Reading Corner – Catching Fire

catchingfireI read Catching Fire in about 24 hours. LOL  I couldn’t put it down. Now I’m stuck waiting for a copy of Mockingjay to come in at the library. I feel like the woman in the old Mervyn’s commercial, outside the store chanting, “o-pen, o-pen, o-pen.” Maybe today will be my lucky day. (Fingers crossed!)

As anyone who has already read The Hunger Games series already knows, Catching Fire is outstanding. I have seen reviews that say that in some ways the plot is a recycled version of the first book but I didn’t feel that way at all while reading. I was very caught up in the story and surprised by directions the plot took. I thought it was a well-crafted progression of the story of Panem and the Capitol’s rule over the Districts.  On the off-chance that there are a few folks out there who haven’t read it yet, I won’t go into anything more detailed. It’s definitely much more shocking if you don’t already know what’s coming. I’m really looking forward to seeing how they incorporate some of the aspects of the action and setting into the movie in November. Can’t wait! 🙂

Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.     
~ Mason Cooley

One comment

What do you think?

