Reading Corner – Mockingjay

mockingjayGreat story. I finished Mockingjay in no time flat, just like Catching Fire. All three books are quick, easy reads but they are so thought-provoking it’s hard to accept that they are written for the 12 and up age group. I’ve read a couple of comments from reviewers who said they felt let down by this book or expressed other minute criticisms. I can understand why others might have this opinion but I simply don’t agree. Sure, I’d love to keep reading more of the lives of those in Panem but a story has to end somewhere and I thought the author’s choices were satisfying for me as a reader. There were some shockers in this book that completely took me by surprise; I even made exclamatory noises while I was reading that made Don wonder what I was doing. This book has a lot of sadness too though. Which, is appropriate, given the direction this book takes. Like Catching Fire, I can’t wait to see how they play things out in the final movie.

“…collective thinking is usually short-lived. We’re fickle, stupid beings with poor memories and a great gift for self-destruction.” 
~ Plutarch, Mockingjay

Panem et Circenses translates into ‘Bread and Circuses.’ …in return for full bellies and entertainment, his people had given up their political responsibilities and therefore their power.”
~ Plutarch, Mockingjay

(Hmm, has a similar ring to the modern-day phrase of keeping Americans “fat and happy”…kind of creepy. But that is what the Romans did. Bread and circuses.)

2 comments

  1. I can’t wait to see the movie adaptations of both Catching fire and Mockingjay. I’m counting the days!! I also think this was a fit ending for the trilogy, all tragedies and minor disappointments included. 🙂 Thank you for the Pingback!

    Like

What do you think?

