Movie Monday – R.I.P.D., The Wolverine, The Incredible Burt Wonderstone

Wow, folks are really slamming R.I.P.D. with negative reviews. Sure, it’s a bit like Men In Black with a different spin but so what? I guess that makes it not original enough for some folks. Who are we to judge but WE thought it was a lot of fun. Exactly what we were looking for to escape a rainy summer day. Truthfully, I was a little worried that it would be cheesy but it all worked. It was silly, unbelievable, wacky, and just plain fun for fun sake.

The Wolverine was also a great diversion this weekend. What is there to say about this one? Wolverine stories are always action-packed and strong. One can’t help but wonder how long his story will keep going (there was a great teaser for another X-Men at the end!) I know in some circles this latest edition of Wolverine isn’t getting stellar remarks but we enjoyed it nonetheless. However, I will say that afterwards, we had more critical things to say about it than we did R.I.P.D. It’s hard to explain why; I think that I pretty much written everything off as fantasy in R.I.P.D. so they could do whatever they wanted with the story and I would have accepted it at face value. In comparison, there is so much human action in The Wolverine, that it makes us pick apart how real people would have really acted in given situations. Maybe it’s just that in general we expect more from such a big budget, big reputation movie.

The Incredible Burt Wonderstone. Lordly. Goofball madness. It was fun. I didn’t love it but I enjoyed it. I think Don liked it just a touch more than me. The style of humor is right in line with things like Bruce Almighty, Even Almighty, Date Night, Get Smart, and 40-Year-Old-Virgin. The film spoofs Criss Angel and his street magic from Mind Freak, which is pretty funny but not in an out loud belly laugh way. Steve Carell and Steve Buscemi play childhood friends who become magicians and after a ten-year run in Vegas they fall out of the business because their show becomes stale when character Steve Gray hits the scene doing street magic. Of course the friends have to conquer the challenges and silly things happen along the way. It’s creative and different and worth watching if you’re looking for some lighthearted comedy.

A day without laughter is a day wasted.
~ Charlie Chaplin 

What do you think?

