Tropical Traditions Lotion Review and GIVEAWAY!

**UPDATE** This giveaway has ended. The winner has been notified. 

Due to the success of my previous posts on Tropical Traditions coconut oil, TT offered to let me try another product. What a pleasant surprise! Since I’ve already tried and use their coconut flour, coconut oil, and coconut concentrate (all wonderful products BTW), I asked to try their moisturizing lotion.  I switched to a safety razor and adopted the old school shaving style a few months ago, which provides for a much closer shave than disposables, and my legs have been in need of a natural lotion solution. Until now, I had simply been using coconut oil on them, which works great, but having a dedicated lotion lets me save that coconut oil for many other uses.

I selected their Baby Silk scent, for a couple of reasons. One, it’s listed as their most popular scent. I figure it’s best to go with what’s popular. And two, their list of essential oils in Baby Silk were the most appealing to me.

Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil - gallon.

Ingredients: purified water, organic virgin coconut oil, organic jojoba, emulsifying wax (plant based, no soy), grapefruit seed extract, organic virgin palm oil, and organic essential oils of lavender, ylang ylang, geranium, roman chamomile, and rose.

My impressions:

The bottle is larger than I expected! I didn’t have a good frame of reference for recognizing how much 8 ounces would be. Honestly, it sounded kind of small to me. But in-hand, it feels perfectly reasonable, a good size in fact. In case anyone else suffers from the same inability to imagine size from an abstract number…here’s a look at how it compares to a couple of other things in my bathroom.

IMG_0379

Does that help? I don’t know. Still seems small in the photo.

IMG_0382

How’s this? Any better? Well, hopefully you get the idea. 🙂

The fragrance is just right IMO. If you like your lotion to be a pseudo-perfume, it might be too subtle for you. I don’t like my products to be overpoweringly fragrant. The Baby Silk combination is perfect for me.

The feel of the lotion is excellent. It is exactly the kind of product I was looking for. Natural. No alcohols, no artificial fragrances, and no petroleum products. It goes on smooth and dries fairly quickly. The bottle cautions that due to the lack of alcohol you may need to allow additional time for the lotion to be absorbed. I haven’t noticed a difference in that respect.

If you are new to Tropical Traditions, here’s a bit of background about them and the coconut oil that is used in their products.

Tropical Traditions is America’s source for coconut oil. Their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is hand crafted in small batches by family producers, and it is the highest quality coconut oil they offer. You can read more about how virgin coconut oil is different from other coconut oils on their website:  What is Virgin Coconut Oil?

Tropical Traditions also carries other varieties of affordable high quality coconut oil. Visit their website to check on current sales, to learn about the many uses of coconut oil, and to read about all the advantages of buying coconut oil online. Since the FDA does not want us to discuss the health benefits of coconut oil on a page where it is being sold or given away, here is the best website to read about the health benefits of coconut oil.

Giveaway Rules: 

You must 18+ to enter and the contest is open to US and Canadian residents. (Sorry international readers!)

To enter, simply subscribe to the Tropical Traditions newsletter here (which will keep you in the know on sales and promotions so you can buy products when they are discounted) AND leave a comment below telling me which variety/fragrance you would prefer.

This giveaway will close at midnight on Saturday, August 10th. I will use random.org to choose the winner and will notify the winner via email. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, I will choose a new winner.

Good luck! 🙂

Important Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

Full Disclosure: If you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson 

28 comments

  1. I would love to have a bottle of this lotion! I would choose the Baby Silk, as I love a soft fragrance. I subscribed to their newsletter!!

    Like

  2. I am a TT newsletter subscriber. I have not tried their lotion, and would also like the baby silk. A close second in the scent department would be the citrus.

    Like

  3. I am a TT newsletter subscriber and a purchaser to their coconut oil (which I love by the way) I haven’t tired their lotion as I do the same as you, use the coconut oil itself as a moisturizer) I would love to give it a try, baby silk would be by first option and peppermint would be my second.

    Like

  4. TT e-mail subscriber with: mummytocharis{at}yahoo{dot}com.
    I’d choose Baby Silk, because I have yet to try that scent. {I’ve already tried their citrus scent and like it.}

    Like

  5. Your blog has enlightened me of several health benefits that coconut oil provides. Your description of Baby Silk lotion sounds spot on of my likes as well. Looking forward to the newsletter to see their sales of coconut products to purchase. As an avid user of lotions, I’m looking forward to trying their product!

    Like

  6. Hi… I have tried this companies tooth cleaner before (good stuff) but not the lotion. If I’m chosen, I would love to try the baby silk scent. Thanks! – Diana

    Like

  7. I would love to try their lotion (Baby Silk) as I use several of their food products, but have not tried any of the body products 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

