Reading Corner – City of Bones

cityofbonesThe Mortal Instruments series is one that I had seen mentioned enough by fellow readers that it has long been in the back of my mind on my “to-read” list. With the impending release of the movie I figured I better get a move on! I wanted to read this one before I watched the movie. City of Bones is Book 1 of the Mortal Instruments. It is, yet again, another young adult paranormal novel. (I’m starting to think I need to take a break from the YA genre.) It was good. The story is captivating, lots of twists and turns. Some reveals were predictable; others completely took me by surprise. The film previews already look insanely impressive. I have a feeling it might be better as a movie, for me. The writing was probably spot on for the age group. For me, there were times where descriptive phrases or some comments were clichéd, or just not right. Some words here and there just rang wrong for me. I know that I’m being picky; most readers probably wouldn’t even notice the few lapses in polished writing. All in all, I enjoyed the story and I can certainly see why it’s popular. I’m just not sure that I’m hooked enough to want to read the rest of the series. I am looking forward to the movie though.

Every novel is an answer to the ancient plea, “Tell us a story.” 
~ Unknown

2 comments

  1. My cousin’s kid mentioned on facebook how excited she was that the movie was coming out this month and that she loved the books, so I bought this one and have just started it so I can have it read before going to the movie, too! Thanks for your input. Maybe I’ll post another comment after I finish.

    Like

What do you think?

