Amazing Find: My Pillow

We were in the market for a new pillow situation earlier this year. For as long as I can remember we’ve had memory foam style pillows, which were comfortable, but just seemed to not be cutting it anymore after so many years. For a number of recent years, they were not deep enough so we ended up doubling up by placing a flat, worn out polyester pillow under the memory foam pillow to bring it up to the height we needed to provide support. I think in the end we were just tired of all that and needed a fresh start.

So. Where to begin? There are so many freaking pillow options out there! Memory foam, gel-filled, down, feather, and on and on. We went to Bed, Bath, and Beyond and immediately felt overwhelmed. Armed with various discount coupons for BBB, we were determined to find something. We squished and squashed. Hemmed and hawed over prices. Pressed heads into floor samples trying to imagine actually lying in bed on the pillow. Not very telling really.

We almost gave in and went for the BioSense memory foam pillow by Brookstone until we saw an interesting box high above our heads. My Pillow. (As Seen on TV.) Hmm. No samples to look at down below. No ladders nearby. No customer service clerks. When in doubt, do it yourself. Don hoisted me up and I grabbed a box down. We pulled the pillow out and mashed it up. Read the box. Felt intrigued. We wanted something different from the memory foam we’d used for years but we knew we didn’t want feather, down, or polyester. My Pillow looked like the ticket. Unsure but willing to give it a try, Don hoisted me up again, a bit higher this time, and I pulled down another (the last) My Pillow from the back of the shelf.

MyPillow

It’s been six months now and we LOVE our pillows. Seems like such a simple little thing but man it can make all the difference at night to have something that conforms and suits you right. Like Goldilocks. Some pillows are too hard, some too soft, and some just right.

The pillows are unique. They fluff up really easy, and I mean really FLUFFY. Then they conform to your head and neck as you get settled and sleep. I admit, I fluff mine almost every night before sleeping but I don’t find that irritating at all. I’ve read some reviews from users who didn’t like this, felt like the pillow was too flat, didn’t conform properly, etc. That has not been our experience and I would argue that the user simply prefers a different style of pillow.

We are multiple position sleepers, not conforming to only our back, front, or side. The pillows are working wonderfully for both of us no matter what way we sleep. It’s heaven having a pillow that works for all possibilities.

The cool factor. Many people have problems with overheating at night so many pillows have built-in cooling factors, particularly the new gel-filled pillows like the ChiliCloud. There’s nothing particularly fancy about My Pillow in regards to coolness, although the packing does claim “built-in cooling effect.” Regardless, I can report, no overheating problems for us. We remain cool and at normal temperature when sleeping with the pillows.

In addition to comfort, other reasons why we felt good about our purchase:

  • Made in the USA
  • 10 year warranty
  • Washable (we haven’t yet but I count this as a positive feature if needed)

Some reviewers report an odd smell to the pillow; again, we didn’t notice anything off-putting. Simply the smell of something new that didn’t have “our” own smell right away. That quickly dispelled after a couple of nights.

If your pillows are tired and you’re in the market for something new. I suggest you consider My Pillow. Just check it out. Compare all the options and find your “just right” pillow. Your neck and body will thank you.

If you can’t sleep, then get up and do something instead of lying there worrying.  It’s the worry that gets you, not the lack of sleep. 
~ Dale Carnegie

(**Please note, I have not been compensated in any way for this opinion; I simply like to share my product experiences with others.)

What do you think?

