Yes I Suppose Some Might Call Me a Hippy

Someone asked me once in the recent past if I was a hippy and I jokingly replied, “In what way, specifically?” I was giving the poor guy a hard time because, yes, in many ways I suppose you could call me a hippy. Or crunchy. Or granola. Although none of these terms accurately defines all my values and beliefs.

According to The Free Dictionary, a hippy is defined as:

A person who opposes and rejects many of the conventional standards and customs of society [which does describe me], especially one who advocates extreme liberalism in sociopolitical attitudes and lifestyles. [This second half though, not so much. I don’t ‘advocate extreme liberalism’.]

So, what about crunchy. Well, according to the Urban Dictionary:

An adjective used to describe persons who have adjusted or altered their lifestyle for environmental reasons. Crunchy persons tend to be politically strongly left-leaning and may be additionally but not exclusively categorized as vegetarians, vegans, eco-tarians, conservationists, environmentalists, neo-hippies, tree huggers, nature enthusiasts, etc. 

That sounds more like me. But, I find that this term is generally used in reference to parenting style and encompasses choices that, due to their relation to parenting, don’t fall into the scope of my world, such as cloth diapers, baby-led weaning, home births, etc. Which, for new readers, is not part of The Journey of Two…we’ve made the choice not to have kids.

So, that leaves us with granola. According to the Urban Dictionary granola is:

An adjective used to describe people who are environmentally aware (flower child, tree-hugger), open-minded, left-winged, socially aware and active, queer or queer-positive, anti-oppressive/discriminatory (racial, sexual, gender, class, age, etc.) with an organic and natural emphasis on living, who will usually refrain from consuming or using anything containing animals and animal by-products (for health and/or environmental reasons), as well as limit consumption of what he or she does consume, as granola people are usually concerned about wasting resources. Usually buy only fair-trade goods and refrain from buying from large corporations, as most exploit the environment as well as their workers, which goes against granola core values.

Again, that comes close to describing my values. I am definitely very environmentally conscious and I do take care to seek out organic or natural products as much as possible. For those relatively new to my ramblings, you might not know that I prefer the following items to more conventional products:

The Femmecup (for girls only!)

Soap Nuts – organic alternative for laundry detergent; can also be used for a variety of other things

Glee Gum – sugar-free, all natural gum (no aspartame)

Safety Razors vs traditional disposable razors

Flip flops made from recycled plastic

JustNatural shampoo and conditioner – free from harsh chemicals

Castor Oil and Grape Seed Oil for washing my face

And a slew of other natural products that I haven’t posted about, including:

Dr. Bronner’s Castille Soap

Earth Friendly Products – dish detergent and hand soap (personally; they have a LOT of other products though)

Coconut Aminos (reasons we should ALL avoid SOY in our products)

Jason toothpaste

To name a few.

So, yeah. I guess you might call me a hippy. Proud of it. 🙂

4 comments

  1. Brava! One would think that the more right leaning, Christian conservatives would follow your example. I mean, God did create the world, according to them, doesn’t that make it sacred? Or at least, special? And if He loved the world so much He gave His only begotten son… doesn’t that mean our world deserves care and tending?

    Besides, I do not see me picnicking on Mars any time soon 🙂

    Just saying!

    Keep the great product recommendations coming!

    Like

  2. Howdy are you using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Like

    1. Yes, I’m using WordPress, and no, you don’t have to know html code. If you do, you can customize things more but if you don’t, no big deal either. WordPress has lots of great tutorials and tips articles. Just sign up for a blog and start playing around with it. You’ll see it’s very easy to use. http://en.support.wordpress.com/

      Like

What do you think?

