Reading Corner – Ender’s Game

Like many others who never read Ender’s Game as a child, I was eager to read this before the movie comes out. I am glad I managed to stumble across a copy and do so! I can’t wait to see the movie because it looks fabulous but I’m certain it won’t encompass everything the book has to offer. Science Fiction is often slightly more difficult for me to read and this was a prime example but not in a negative way. It’s just so incredibly different than other genres. I could not “see” a lot of the story but I could feel it. Another reviewer perhaps describes it better by saying,

“Card’s prose is of the clear, clean-cut variety, in the tradition of George Orwell, who said that good writing is “like a windowpane.” He doesn’t draw attention to himself as the author; instead, he steps aside and focuses on enveloping the reader in Ender’s world.”

I also agree with this reviewer that I can’t say much about the book without spoiling things for you. But if you’re interested in a little more detail, this plot summary is very well written. Suffice to say, I enjoyed it. I think it’s worth reading because it’s one of those books that makes you think. That deals with a multitude of morality issues. And there’s plenty of action for those who like that too.

I think that most of us, anyway, read these stories that we know are not “true” because we’re hungry for another kind of truth: the mythic truth about human nature in general, the particular truth about those life-communities that define our own identity, and the most specific truth of all: our own self-story. Fiction, because it is not about someone who lived in the real world, always has the possibility of being about oneself. 
~ Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game

5 comments

    1. LOL I know. Disappointing that things like that get spoiled. It’s possible to shield yourself from spoilers like that (sometimes, at great effort) if you don’t pay attention to the marketing. I’m actually curious to see how the movie plays out. I have a feeling it’s not going to be like the book very much at all. We’ll see.

      Like

  1. “Ender’s Game” is a classic- if you are looking for sci-fi/urban fantasy with a literary bend other worth looking at are David Brin’s “The Uplift Wars” series and Mark Helprin “Winter’s Tale” (also a film coming out this fall and Neal Stephenson’s “Snow Crash.”

    Like

What do you think?

