Hot Peach Butter

I am very excited. This is my very own creation. I got a little help online of course but the initial idea and final ingredients were all me.

We recently had a couple of peaches that waited too long for eating. They were NOT looking pretty. (Shrunken and dehydrated looking.) But I had hope that I could perhaps salvage something out of them instead of just throwing them away. Before I got around to it, I bought a few more peaches and the first one I ate was MUSH and it didn’t seem to be the right color inside. Perhaps it was just really ripe. Perhaps it was a variety of peach I’ve not had before. It tasted absolutely fine. I just didn’t like the soft, mushy texture. SO, I decided to use all four peaches (it might have been five, I really can’t remember and I wasn’t taking close notes that night) to make some sort of fruity compote. A quick Google search later and this post was the inspiration for my tasty concoction that I dub Hot Peach Butter!

Hot Peach Butter

  • 4-5 peaches
  • 4 jalapenos*
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

*this was rather spicy. I was worried that maybe I threw in one too many but in the end, the taste turned out AMAZING.

I cut up the peaches, keeping the skins on and just cutting out the pits, and threw it all in my food processor with the jalapenos, also roughly chopped. I buzzed the crap out of it all to really reduce it as much as possible. Then I threw it in a pan on the stove with the rest of the ingredients.

peaches

I brought it to a simmer and then turned it to down to low for about 3-4 hours. I really wanted to cook it down to a thicker texture as much as possible without adding anything else like pectin.

IMG_0435

You can really see in the picture below that it reduced considerably from above.

IMG_0437

It was a little thin still when I jarred it and refrigerated it but after a few days cold, it was thicker and really, rather perfect.

IMG_0440

8 oz jar

I served it warm, over french vanilla ice cream to 4 willing test subjects, myself included.

2013-09-14 22.03.11

Everybody. LOVED it. Yay me! I KNEW I could do something with it. 🙂

Don’t think. Thinking is the enemy of creativity. It’s self-conscious, and anything self-conscious is lousy. You can’t try to do things. You simply must do things.
~ Ray Bradbury

What do you think?

