Mini Cakes in a Cup

This is NOT my recipe but in the interest of sharing this amazing idea, I give you…Mug Cakes. Courtesy of The Paleo Mom and Delighted Momma. Holy Crap. Creative much?

The only adjustment I made to Paleo Mom’s 2 Minute Cinnamon Apple Mug Cake was to use a little less honey. Her recipe calls for 2 tablespoons and that just seemed like a lot for me. So I only used 1 tablespoon. I also didn’t measure my walnuts, just chopped up a handful. Cuz I like nuts.

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 apple, peeled and cored
  • 3 tbsp almond flour
  • handful of walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of pink salt

(Be sure to jump over to check out the original recipes for other adaptations to making mug cakes, especially since Delighted Momma’s are chocolate cakes – for you chocolate lovers out there.)

IMG_0445

The idea is to combine everything in a mug, and then microwave for 2 minutes. Easy. Peasy.

IMG_0446

I used my bullet to puree the apple.

IMG_0447

I chopped the walnuts by hand.

IMG_0448

And then used a fork to mix it all together.

Before microwaving…

IMG_0449
After.

IMG_0451

IMG_0455
Delightful.

Sweets grown common lose their dear delight. 
~ William Shakespeare

What do you think?

