Organic Hair Oil Review and Giveaway

**UPDATE** This giveaway has ended. The winner has been notified. 

I jumped at the chance to try another Tropical Traditions product recently. I selected their unscented organic hair oil. (I don’t really like fragrances in my skin and body care products but they do carry the oil in lavender and rosemary scent as well.) The bottle is the same size as TT’s Moisturizing Lotion (which I still LOVE btw!) Hands down, best lotion I’ve ever had.

IMG_0603

The suggested uses for the hair oil include: (from TT’s website)

For dry scalp: Rub into hair and scalp at least 30 minutes before showering, or before bed at night. Wear a shower cap or towel to protect bedding.

As a conditioner: As a deep conditioner, work through scalp and hair before washing. Leave in for 15 minutes to overnight. For a leave-in conditioner, work a small amount through wet hair before styling and drying.

Shine Serum: Rub a small amount in the palms of your hands and gently run over dry hair. Scrunch for curly hair or rake for straight hair.

I’ve primarily experimented with option #2. I’ve rubbed some through my hair 15-30 minutes before showering and washing it out. Once, I left it in overnight as a leave-in conditioner and washed it out in the morning. I also have used a small amount on wet hair after showering/washing, and then letting my hair air dry, which gives it a slightly windblown, natural look.

I can’t say that I’ve noticed any drastic changes but I am pleased with the results. I feel like my hair feels softer and looks healthier. I don’t use it every day and I would not recommend it as it might make your hair too oily, especially if you have naturally oily hair. I tend to wash my hair every 2-4 days depending on my activity and so in turn, I only use the oil periodically, not even every time I wash my hair. I’ve had the bottle pictured above for about two months and I’ve probably used it less than a dozen times. A little goes a long way; I don’t think I’ll need to replace my supply for quite some time.

And now it is time to pay it forward to one lucky reader! See below for giveaway rules and entry details. But first, if you are new to Tropical Traditions, I highly recommend you stop over to their website to learn more. Tropical Traditions is America’s source for coconut oil. Their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is hand crafted in small batches by family producers, and it is the highest quality coconut oil they offer. You can read more about how virgin coconut oil is different from other coconut oils here:  What is Virgin Coconut Oil?

Tropical Traditions also carries other varieties of affordable high quality coconut oil. (We cook with it almost every day!) Visit their website to check on current sales, to learn about the many uses of coconut oil, and to read about all the advantages of buying coconut oil online. You can also check out TT’s FAQ page here.

Since the FDA does not want us to discuss the health benefits of coconut oil on a page where it is being sold or given away, you can read about the health benefits of coconut oil here.

Giveaway Rules: 

You must 18+ to enter and the contest is open to US and Canadian residents. (Sorry international readers!)

To enter, simply subscribe to the Tropical Traditions newsletter here (which will keep you in the know on sales and promotions so you can buy products when they are discounted) AND leave a comment below telling me which fragrance you would prefer to sample – unscented, lavender, or rosemary. (If you are already a subscriber, just say so in your comment.)

This giveaway will close at midnight on October 31st. I will use random.org to choose the winner and will notify the winner via email. If the winner does not respond within 48 hours, I will choose a new winner.

Cheers!

What you do today can improve all your tomorrows.
~ Ralph Marston

Important Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

Full Disclosure: If you order by clicking on any of my links and have never ordered from Tropical Traditions in the past, you will receive a free book on Virgin Coconut Oil, and I will receive a discount coupon for referring you.

25 comments

  1. I subscribe to the Tropical Traditions newsletter, and the unscented would be my pick! Thank you for the opportunity to win this; I’ve been wanting to try this but have been unsure about spending on it.

    Like

  2. The products I’m reading about all sound fantastic. Wish I could afford to sample many of them, but alas… If I were to receive a sample of hair oil I would wish for it to be unscented. Thank you!

    Like

What do you think?

