Chicken Salad with Pomegranate

I came up with this one myself! Well, sort of.

I have to first explain that taco salads tend to be my go-to meal when I am home alone. For one, it’s quick and easy to make and also, I don’t usually have much, if anything, defrosted and ready to be cooked after a long work day. One pound of ground meat is generally easier to defrost quickly so I can get on with the cooking part.

Don told me that one day that he was home alone, he made a salad with canned chicken, a sort of chicken salad. I know. NOT a new idea. But I generally eat chicken salad as a mixture on a sandwich, on crackers, or by itself. So it was kind of a novel idea to me simply because I’d never made it as a salad.

So. That’s where my inspiration came from. The execution came on an evening that I was home alone, short on patience, lacking any desire to cook, and HUNGRY. This turned out to be the perfect solution. Simple. Easy. Tasty. Filling.

Ingredients

  • salad (romaine and spinach leaves chopped)
  • 1 10-ounce can of chicken
  • handful of pecans
  • about 1-2 tbsps miracle whip (NOT my first choice of product but it was my exception for the day)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pomegranate to garnish (I had previously seeded one and had seeds ready to go. I highly suggest this tactic. Great video here shows you how.)

Basically, I chopped up my greens. Drained the can of chicken. Mixed it up with a little miracle whip so it wasn’t dry. Added a bit of salt and pepper for flavor. Roughly chopped the pecans and added them to the chicken mix. Then topped my greens with the chicken mix. Topped the chicken with a few more pecans and then added the pomegranate seeds.

chicken salad with pomegranate
I definitely see myself working this into my regular meal rotation. Maybe not with pomegranate seeds every time, but doing different versions of with chicken.

One of the secrets of a happy life is continuous small treats.
~ Iris Murdoch

What do you think?

