Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Chicken

Sometimes you can come up with the most interesting combinations purely by circumstance. In this case, I had Brussels sprouts that needed to be used. They had been in the fridge for a while and I was beginning to worry about their freshness. I had been procrastinating because they can take a lot of time to prepare. But I LOVE them when I do take the time to make them.

IMG_0638

So, I was finally committed to cooking them last weekend. I asked Don what he thought I should make with them, since he wasn’t going to be home. He suggested two frozen chicken thighs that were marinated and ready to go. Initially, we thought of just grilling the chicken whole but then Don suggested that I dice it up and add it to my roasted Brussels sprouts, sort of like a tossed chicken and roasted Brussels sprouts. But I was planning to add walnuts and bacon, since that’s an awesome combination, but Don suggested I skip the walnuts and try macadamia nuts instead. So that’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (roughly) of Brussels sprouts
  • 6 pieces of bacon
  • 2 chicken thighs
  • handful of macadamia nuts
  • bit of olive oil
  • dash of salt

To roast sprouts, I prefer to wash them, cut off the ends, and then cut them in half.

IMG_0641

While I worked on the sprouts, I cooked my bacon in the oven at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes. While I waited for the bacon, I also diced up my chicken and set it aside.

IMG_0639

IMG_0648

When the bacon was done I took it out, set it aside, and turned the oven up to 400. I took a little bit of the bacon grease and used it to cook up the chicken, in my GreenPan. Still LOVE it btw.

IMG_0651

The rest of the grease stayed in the bacon pan and I added the Brussels sprouts, making sure they were well covered by the bacon grease and added a tiny bit of olive oil and a dash of salt.

IMG_0647

They went in the oven for about 40 minutes (total.) I checked on them frequently, stirring them to get a good coverage of roastiness.

While waiting on the sprouts, I diced up my macadamia nuts and reduced my bacon to bacon bits.

IMG_0655

IMG_0653When my sprouts were looking almost done, I added the bacon and chicken to the pan. Mixed it well and put it back in for 5 minutes. Then I added the nuts and put it back in for another 5 minutes.

IMG_0658

Then, it was time to test the flavor.

IMG_0659

It was good. But it seemed to be lacking something. So I pulled up my first roasted Brussels sprouts post for reference and made a quick dressing with mustard, honey, and apple cider vinegar. It helped give the dish a bit more flavor. I liked it. 🙂 I call this new creation a success!

Take risks: if you win, you will be happy; if you lose, you will be wise.
~ Anonymous

One comment

What do you think?

