Movie Monday – The Lone Ranger, Turbo, Julie and Julia, The World’s End, Love Actually and a laundry list of favs that I feel I must mention

I’ve got a few more to cover today since I’m catching up on a couple of weeks. The Long Ranger was, as everyone says, a bit of a disappointment, for different reasons for each of us. I didn’t like the Lone Ranger character; he was weak and unsympathetic for me. Don couldn’t get past Johnny Depp playing an Indian. It just didn’t work for him. Both of us found the film a strange mixture of themes and concepts that didn’t work well together. What’s up with the cannibalistic bunnies? I know, “something’s wrong with nature.” Or something of that sort. But that whole idea was just weird. I did like the action sequence near the end with the old Lone Ranger music and “come to the rescue” flair. But it didn’t make up for all the other things that just didn’t work.

Turbo, on the other hand, was a lot of fun. A strange and unique plot, a racing snail, but the story had a lot of heart, a lot of good messages about following your dreams, and supporting others in theirs. Definite two thumbs up for Turbo.

The World’s End was odd. We had high expectations. The trailer was funny and we’ve always enjoyed movies with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, such as Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and Paul. But The World’s End was different. There was a fair amount of sad and bittersweet humor that dragged the story down a bit. The movie follows five friends who come together to re-create a moment from their youth and who fall into a strange and dangerous fight for survival. It’s weird and not all that funny. IMO.

Love Actually is not new and actually I believe I’ve seen it once before but it had been so long that I didn’t remember. This is another mixture of sweet and bittersweet moments, in the lives of a LOT of different characters, (one of those movies) but all in all it’s a sweet, endearing movie. Good for the holidays. (Which I didn’t know.) I’m glad I watched it now, so close to the holiday season.

Julie & Julia (also not new) was interesting. If only my blog brought me opportunities like Julie! LOL It was fun watching someone else doing something similar. I had to laugh at some of the conversations between Julie and her husband, and friends – some were rather familiar. I liked Julie’s idea of cooking her way through the cookbook and chronicling it online. Her blog was a lot more specific than mine in that way. She had a specific goal and a specific target that all her writing was focused around. My blog ranges so many topics. Perhaps that hinders my ability to make it a profitable enterprise. Although, for her to have cooked 536 recipes in one year, she had to have been cooking more than one a day, every day, and blogging every day. I tried blogging daily for a time in the beginning and it is demanding to do so. My less regimented schedule of every other day or every few days has worked out much better for me. Someday, when circumstances change, I would like to possibly change the format and design of my blog to make it more searchable, functional, and possibly profitable. But for now, it’s mostly a venue for me to stay in touch with far-flung friends and family, which has nothing whatsoever to do with the movie. I liked a lot about the movie but at times it was tedious and plodding and I really didn’t like how it ended. It was very anti-climatic. It’s worth watching once I think. There is a lot to appreciate, just not something I would watch over and over.

That’s the other thing I’ve been doing lately. Our local Blockbuster is closing and selling off inventory and we have taken full advantage. I’ve got oodles of favorite movies now that I’ve been playing while cooking, blogging, and whatnot. I like to have movies in the background when I’m home alone. It makes me feel less alone. Some of my absolute FAVS that I snatched up and watched (listened to) lately are Ghosts of Girlfriends Past, Enchanted, Sweet Home Alabama, The Devil Wears Prada, Fool’s Gold, and The Abyss. OMG, The Abyss. Love, love, love. The Proposal is another that, unfortunately, I wasn’t able to snag a copy but it was on TV Saturday night so YAY for that. I was also hoping to get Pitch Perfect but no such luck. And I’m cutting myself off! We’ve been in and out of Blockbuster about a half a dozen times already. Compulsive much?

“By all means, move at a glacial pace. You know how that thrills me.
Miranda Priestly, The Devil Wears Prada

Enhanced by Zemanta
What do you think?

