Gluten-Free Dumplings for those comfort food moments

I have these wonderful memories from childhood of steaming hot stew with chunky hunks of beef, potato, carrot, celery, and onion, topped with a fluffy cloud of warm dumplings. Of course, back then, all I would eat was the meat, potatoes, dumplings, and broth. I still loved it. Because my memories are so swiss-cheesed with holes and gaps, I don’t know whether it was my dad cooking or my mom, whether the dumplings were from scratch or Bisquick. But whenever a cold or rainy day rolls around, that foggy memory rises up and I pine wistfully for the simple comfort of stew and dumplings. In the chill of the current polar vortex, I attempted another dumpling re-creation and I LOVE the results. 

I experimented with an Almond Flour Dumpling recipe two years ago, which is ok but I didn’t love it enough to make it more than once, and yet it ironically has been my most popular post over the life of this blog. (Quickly being surpassed by our recent Cream Cheese and Jalapeno Stuffed Pork Tenderloin post. 🙂 ) If you’ve tried the old dumpling recipe, you’ve GOT to try this one. Delicious. Easy. Just plain wonderful. 

Gluten-Free Dumplings, can be used for chicken or stew soups

Ingredients – makes 6-8 dumplings depending on size

  • 3/4 cup tapioca flour
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda (this was a happy accident since I meant to use baking powder but the soda seems to work just fine IMO)
  • 1/4 cup broth from your soup

I combined all the ingredients in my food processor and blended it well. Then I simply dropped spoonfuls into the top of my stew. I put the lid on and let the dumplings cook for 10-15 minutes (until plumped and firm.)

gluten free dumplings 1

gluten free dumplings 2

The dough was too thin and sticky to shape into balls which was why I opted for simply dropping spoonfuls in the stew.

gluten free dumplings 3

It firmed up quite well to my surprise and delight. (You know me, always a little afraid when trying something new. I’m always worried about the waste if something doesn’t turn out well.)

gluten free dumplings 4

gluten free dumplings 5

Ta-da! Try it. Seriously. Good eats.

Food is the most primitive form of comfort.
~ Sheilah Graham

Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

What do you think?

