Maple Banana Spice Bread from Primal Cravings Cookbook

My niece and her husband surprised us with a very thoughtful gift for Christmas – the Primal Cravings cookbook!

primal cravings cookbook

They certainly know their audience. 🙂 (Thank you Harmony and Nate!)

I don’t usually spring for cookbooks because Don tends to be a wet noodle about them, preferring to come up with his own recipe, and because the internet is so readily available to search when we do want to get ideas. I do love cookbooks though and I really love the way Brandon and Megan Keatley put together Primal Cravings. I’ve actually visited their website before, Health-Bent, and skimmed through their recipes online. (I can’t remember if we’ve ever made any before.)

Before I get to the recipe, I have to tell you about the book. As someone who still hasn’t been able to transition to e-reading because I simply love paper and love holding the real deal, I LOVE the binding choice and formatting of the book itself. The cover is thick and rugged yet muted in color which gives it a nostalgic, used feel. It reminds me of an old book I had as a child that was a hardback collection of stories.

As for the content, the recipes are straight-forward and easy to follow. They are all low-sugar, grain-free, gluten-free, and industrial oil-free. The Keatley’s included a lot of great information for beginners (and even seasoned gluten-free/paleo/primal eaters who need a reminder on a few things) on topics ranging from how paleo-style foods are good for you, how to stock your kitchen with the right foods AND utensils, metric conversions of measurements, and even nutritional information. The book is not text-laden and cumbersome. It’s like Goldilocks says, “just right.”

For my first recipe I chose to make Maple Banana Spice Bread.

banana spice cake recipe

maple banana spice cake
Couldn’t have been better. Simple yet elegant and full of flavor. I wouldn’t change a thing.

Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

What do you think?

