Movie Monday – Bad Grandpa, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, Frozen

Bad Grandpa was bad, in a good way. It wasn’t always a well-connected story. It felt more like a number of skits or scenes barely threaded together with an over-arching story than a full-fledged movie, but I think it still managed to come together well enough that we stayed engaged and entertained. If you don’t know, Bad Grandpa is an MTV film by Johnny Knoxville. Lots of off-color humor and inappropriate stunts. True to Knoxville form, unsuspecting everyday folks are exposed to crazy stunts and their reactions, in some cases, are priceless. I think my favorite was the scene in the male strip club. I won’t spoil it but I will say that when all the women in the room jump and run from their seats, we were rolling. It was crass, but it was funny.

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2 was fun. Silly and somewhat empty of plot or meaningful message but fun all the same. It felt to me like there was an adult-oriented agenda behind the story, speaking out against big business (EVIL Corp), and against, I don’t know what, eating food if it’s cute? But maybe not. The film is full of creative imagery and there are plenty of quick-witted remarks and dialogue that will hold your attention, even if you’re wondering the whole time what it’s really all about.

Frozen was great. I didn’t LOVE it but I think that’s because I’ve become so accustomed to animated films like Wrech-It-Ralph and How to Train Your Dragon which are entirely different types of storytelling as this reviewer mentions. Frozen was spectacularly well done. I think the new spin they put on the idea of the princess kiss or true love’s kiss was an outstanding choice. I also loved when Elsa ran away to the mountain and created her ice castle. The musical element was…not unexpected, I KNEW going in, but for some reason it just seemed like SO much. Still, the songs were great and they added feeling and depth to scenes. Like Elsa creating her castle. Hands down, I can see why kids would love this movie. It’s definitely one to see.

It’s going to be deadly dangerous with a good chance of death.
~ Flint Lockwood, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, 2013

Enhanced by Zemanta
What do you think?

