Happy Trails

We went trail riding at Camp Claiborne again this last weekend.

camp claiborne (6)

We got a little muddy.

The weather was outstanding! It was warm but not hot. (No mosquitoes yet because it’s still too early in the year. Bonus!)

This trip we put the GoPro on my helmet and, in my opinion, the video is much more entertaining! I caught Don jumping a couple of times and executing a great little turn around trick that I’m definitely not ready to try yet.

DonJump

A still shot from the video.

You can see the jump in action here. He jumps a second time too; it’s a little hard to see because he’s farther ahead that time.

 

Here’s his turnaround trick…

Probably looks like nothing to an experienced rider. If I tried that at this point, I’d end up on my face for sure.

The day couldn’t have been better. Well, it would have been nice if I hadn’t gone down on my bike, but at least it wasn’t a major mishap. 🙂 The trails were muddy that day. We were constantly navigating around puddles and shifting between wet and dry ground. During one seemingly dry stretch, my front tire washed-out in a slippery spot and I just went down. One second I was on the bike, the next I was on the ground, a little banged up and startled, but otherwise injury-free.


(That darn bike is heavy!)

Don

Don, “You ok?” Me, “Yep.”

Don also took us off-trail, as usual, because sometimes there’s just something you have to check out off-trail. LOL We found a spot with a mighty big hill that, of course, doesn’t look that big at all in the video, but I’m telling you, it was BIG! And I didn’t weenie out about going up and over, and back again.

I think it’s my adventure, my trip, my journey, and I guess my attitude is, let the chips fall where they may.
~ Leonard Nimoy

6 comments

  1. Good crash! I can’t do the turn around thing either. Don tried to teach me this summer but I don’t think my legs are long enough. Or I am not working the clutch right. Glad you had fun. Keep these posts coming because I have to live vicariously through you for the next 3 months.

    Like

    1. They really aren’t bad! And they are dual sport so you can ride on the road and on trails. They are gloried scooters because they don’t have a lot of power in either respect but on trails they are like a billy goat, you can get over just about anything, and they are great little commuters if you aren’t doing major time on the highway/freeway. Ours were about $4,000/each. But we bought the 2012 model in 2013 to get a price break (because they don’t really change either.) They are great little bikes! Great for me to learn on too. 🙂 They are Yamaha TW200’s. http://tinyurl.com/owr5qz8

      Like

What do you think?

