Creamy Broccoli Soup

My hearty thanks to Michelle of Nom Nom Paleo for her Curried Cream of Broccoli Soup recipe. It saved my butt the other night. I had an abundance of broccoli this week so I jumped online and Googled, “paleo broccoli soup”. Presto! Nom Nom Paleo was in the top few hits and since I know her recipes rock I clicked on her link.

I didn’t have all the same ingredients but I made do with what I did have. The soup. Was awesome. Definitely a winner and something to go in my little box of quick and easy meals. (Okay, quick is a relative term, it took me over an hour to make but I was multitasking and doing a bunch of things. I think if I’d been focused on dinner only, it might have only taken 30-40 minutes.)

Here’s the nitty-gritty on what I did.

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs broccoli (if you don’t have a scale, it was about 4 big heads of broccoli)
  • 2 large onions
  • 1 small apple
  • 2 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 cup water with about a tbsp of Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate (substitution for coconut milk that I did not have)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

What I did:

1. Roughly chopped the onion and sautéed it with the coconut oil for about 5-10 minutes while chopping the broccoli, including the stalk. I also peeled and cored the apple and roughly chopped it.

2. Then I added the broccoli and apple to the pot and poured the 4 cups of broth over it. Michelle’s recipe said that the broth should be covering the veggies and mine only about halfway filled the pan. So I added more water until I had what you see below. I don’t know how much extra water I added.

broccoli soup1

3. I brought the pan to a boil then reduced to low to simmer. I think I turned it down too low, too soon, because it wasn’t really simmering and I had to turn it back up a bit at one point, then down again. In the end, it simmered for about 35 minutes until the veggies were soft.

4. Next, I added the curry, salt, and pepper. Michelle’s recipe called for 1 tablespoon of curry. Either because I had so much extra broth/water, or because my curry isn’t very spicy, I added another tablespoon. (It wasn’t very spicy in my book, just very flavorful.)

broccoli soup2

5. I took the pot off the stove to cool a little but I didn’t let it cool down much; we have a metal stick blender that handles the high heat just fine. (I have seen a plastic one melt before so be careful and mindful of that if yours is not metal.) I blended it until the mixture was smooth. 

broccoli soup3

I know. It looks like baby food. Try to look past the green. I’m telling you, it’s yummy.

broccoli soup4

6. I returned the pot to the stove and turned the burner back to high to ensure my last ingredients would not reduce the overall heat of the soup and then I added the 1 cup of water and the Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate.

You can essentially make coconut milk with TT’s coconut cream concentrate. The jar says to use 1-2 tsp for 6-8 ounces. I’ve never actually used my coconut cream much before so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It didn’t dissolve well in the cup of water because the concentrate is in a solid state and my water was not hot. And since it doesn’t really look like coconut milk and I was afraid it wouldn’t have enough flavor, I added about 2 tablespoons. I figured it couldn’t hurt anything. I also hoped that the cream would melt and incorporate in the heat of the soup so I just put it in the pot and stirred it for a bit. It all came together fine in my opinion.

I dished out a bowl and topped it with some canned chicken. Nothing fancy. Just great tasting.

broccoli soup

The way you think, the way you behave, the way you eat, can influence your life by 30 to 50 years.
~ Deepak Chopra

Enhanced by Zemanta
What do you think?

