Reading Corner – Speaker for the Dead

speakerforthedead-coverHoly. Cow. I thought Ender’s Game was outstanding. Speaker for the Dead blew my mind. Three thousand years after Ender Wiggin was manipulated and turned into a tool used to successfully annihilate a sentient race, humans are once again exploring the dangerous ground of interacting with an alien species. Reminiscent of Star Trek’s first contact code, humans have adopted a strictly controlled non-interference set of policies dictating interactions with foreign species. But no matter how we try, we still get everything terribly wrong and history threatens to repeat itself when seemingly unprovoked human deaths rock the colony.

The first few chapters were slightly jarring for me, the strange names of people and places and the use of other languages. It has been a while since I’ve read something so complex, perhaps since I read Ender’s Game last September. This is not the light, quick reading of many conventional novels. I felt my mind stretching and working while I read. (Both books.) And it feels amazing. After a few short sessions of only reading a chapter or two at a time I reached a point that I couldn’t put the book down anymore. I literally sat and read for nearly 6 hours straight until I finished. I tried to put it down! I wanted to make it last longer while at the same time I had to know what happened next. Simply amazing. I have yet to re-read a novel to this day but I anticipate I could re-read Speaker for the Dead one day. Powerfully moving in so many ways. I highly recommend Speaker for the Dead to anyone and everyone, especially those who are energized by philosophy, religion, and science.

“It’s the most charming thing about humans. You are all so sure that the lesser animals are bleeding with envy because they didn’t have the good fortune to be born Homo sapiens.” 
~ Orson Scott Card, Speaker for the Dead 

Enhanced by Zemanta
What do you think?

