Mexican Chicken Stew

I’m calling this stew but some might call it chili. Either way, this is an easy, crock pot meal with chicken and Mexican flavors. And yes, it was outstanding so you should totally try it. đŸ™‚

A recipe or mention of a Mexican flavored chicken crock pot meal popped up on my FB feed weeks ago and ever since I’ve had it on my mind to want to try something like that. Since I couldn’t remember the original source (and didn’t Pin it like I should have for later reference), I did a quick search for recipes and settled on these two (one, two) for my inspiration. (One day I might trust my own knowledge of complimentary ingredients and flavors but I’m not quite there yet. It is progress though that I put together my own recipe using these as guides rather than just making one of the recipes word for word.)

Ingredients

  • 1 lb chicken
  • 2 cups chicken broth (or water and bouillon cubes)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 10-ounce can diced tomatoes and chilies
  • 1 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 6-ounce can of tomato paste
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp of our homemade chili garlic paste (or just garlic)
  • 2 tbsps of our homemade taco seasoning (for a combination of chili powder, cumin, and coriander, as well as a few others)
  • a few sprigs of spicy oregano from our herb garden (or use 1 tsp dried oregano)
  • 1 lime – zested and squeezed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cilantro (for garnish)

Just put everything in the crock pot and let it cook for 6 hours on high. Take the chicken out and pull it with forks. Put it back in and serve when ready. You really can’t get much easier than that.

ingredients

chicken

IMG_0980

The ‘before’ shot once everything was in the pot.

chicken1

chicken2

stew

‘After’ adding the chicken back to the pot.

mexicanchickenstew
We have one serving left that Don is having for dinner tonight. Jealous Much! I’m already thinking about how soon I can make it again. đŸ˜‰

I wouldn’t say that processed food, ready meals and even takeaways aren’t relevant to modern life, it’s just that over the past 40 years there are three generations of people who have come out of school and gone through their home life without ever being shown how to cook properly.
~ Jamie Oliver
Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

What do you think?

