Reading Corner – Daughter of the God-King

daughterofthegod-kingThis was a delightfully fun read! Yet again, I found myself not wanting to put a book down. So I indulged on Saturday with a lazy morning of coffee and reading for 4 hours, until I finished the latter half of the book.

Daughter of the God-King is book two in Anne Cleeland’s Regency series. (I eagerly await book three!) I liked this one even better than book one, Tainted Angel. I don’t have my own copy of Tainted Angel to cross-check, but I get the feeling that some of the supporting characters in Tainted Angel are present in Daughter of the God-King, but in every other way the book is its own story. In other words, I don’t think you have to read book one to appreciate book two; you’d just miss out on the fun of book one. In Daughter of the God-King, Hattie is a young woman, recently come of age, who is at the center of a mystery surrounding the disappearance and possible death of her parents who are famously well-known scholars in the study of the ancient tombs of Egypt. Hattie sets out on a journey for answers and finds adventure, misfortune, and romance along the way.

I enjoyed DGK immensely. It is quick-paced, full of rich details, mysterious characters, and lots of twists and turns. At one point I laughed out loud I was so shocked by something that I didn’t see coming. It was really a lot of fun to read. It was a little difficult to follow in the first few chapters. I had trouble differentiating the characters, the introductions were brief and didn’t give me good sense of each character. It did not take long for it to come together though. The story is seemingly complex at times and yet easy, light reading at others. It’s a unique juxtaposition that I think in the end works quite well.

I marked a few favorite passages to share:

“Oddly enough, he had the blond woman in tow–she was quite old– at least thirty, if she as a day. Perhaps the woman required his support due to her advanced age.”

While climbing down out a second story window, Hattie’s thoughts were, “The fact that she wore a full plethora of petticoats scarcely slowed her, and in a manner of minutes her uncertain mood was much improved–there was nothing like making a daring escape to lift one’s spirits.”

Upon being invited to join in an activity that Hattie had no interest in, her response to the invite was, “I would be bored beyond imagining and therefore likely to cut the visit short–a most unsatisfactory gooseberry.” I’ve never heard this phrase before! Apparently it’s an older version of the third-wheel. I like it.

DGK is part mystery, part romance, and part historical fiction, a bit like the Venice trilogy by Dave Duncan. If you enjoy any of those genres, then I would highly recommend DGK.

“I read so I can live more than one life in more than one place.” 
~ Anne Tyler

Enhanced by Zemanta
What do you think?

