Movie Monday – RoboCop

robocop

Image courtesy of IMDb

I really didn’t like the new RoboCop. Granted, I’m not super familiar with the original so I don’t know if it’s better/worse, etc. I just found parts of the movie slow and I didn’t connect with or care about the characters. Don and his brother Kevin seemed to like it a bit more than me but it didn’t wow them either. I think the best part of the film was the satirical character of Pat Novak played by Samuel L. Jackson.

I could have just been too tired to fully appreciate the movie. There are not enough hours in the day lately. We are seeing the light-at-the-end-of-the-moving-tunnel but we are still far from having a regular, routine daily life. We unpacked the last of the boxes over the weekend, made some headway on the weeds and overgrowth of the yard, and organized more around the house. We still have a few boxes of tools and related garage items in the garage to unpack and organize and bare walls throughout the house waiting to be decorated. But I’m not in any hurry on those items. Don starts work today and I am back to work for a full work week with my new job. I’m hoping that in another week or two we’ll have settled into a routine finally. 🙂

Pat Novak:  Now you see how fundamental these robots are to our foreign policy.  So why can’t we use these robots at home?  Why are we so robo-phobic?  After all, what’s more important than the safety of American people?
~ RoboCop, 2014

What do you think?

