Movie Monday – Divergent

divergentDivergent was GREAT. I haven’t read the series. I want to, and I had high hopes to read Divergent before the movie came out but no such luck. So I can’t comment on how it compares to the series. From a movie-only perspective, I can say that I think it was very well done. We both really enjoyed it. I was skeptical and I guess you could say ready to be disappointed. Far from it. I anticipated more love interest bogging the story down but not at all. It was a good blend of action, character development, and just a touch of the teen romance. The story provides an interesting look at government (control) and the exploration of the possible consequences of such a design. If you’re not tired of the dystopian theme yet and you enjoy sci-fi and fantasy, then I highly recommend Divergent. We can’t wait to see the next one.

“Politeness is deception in pretty packaging.”
~ Veronica Roth, Divergent

4 comments

  1. I loved this movie as well. Olivia of course read the books and said that the movie and books were pretty close, even more so than the Hunger Games to date are. Miss you!!

    Like

What do you think?

