Creative Energy (or lack thereof)

I have so many unwritten posts and topics that are overdue. I’m afraid they will be ‘old news’ and irrelevant if I don’t catch up soon. I still haven’t posted pictures of the long haul from Louisiana to Washington (we have at least finally looked at the pictures together); I have home improvement and gardening projects I could share; I have movies we’ve watched and I’ve not written up; I’m reading again (slowly) and will soon have books to review; we’ve been cooking with The Cobb again and I’ve wanted to share those stories as well.

But finding time and the creative energy to write is a challenge, to say the least. I’ve tried scheduling time slots for myself and I’ve tried just diving in and attempting to write in a window of opportunity when it’s come up. But I’ve come to realize that I cannot force the creative inspiration. And what really kills me is that I’ve written, I don’t know how many drafts (in my head) while driving back and forth to work, while doing the dishes, cooking dinner, weeding the garden, painting the porch steps, going to sleep… Yet, no matter how many stories I craft in my head, they don’t stay with me. When I have time to sit down and write, even now, it’s all completely gone. I might remember a phrase or two I was thinking of using, but it always sounds out of place, dry, uninteresting, or it’s just plain not enough to get me rolling.

To those of you still hanging in there with me, thank you. I am still trying and constantly hoping to make more regular appearances.

Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.
~ Earl Nightingale

2 comments

  1. That’s a great quote 🙂

    Sometimes it helps me to have a notebook on hand… when I think of a good idea I jot down the key points and then it’s easier to remember later 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you and thank you for the suggestion! I’ve been keeping something by the bed, which helps, but it’s hard to get your thoughts down while driving and that’s really when my mind wanders most I think. I will keep trying. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

