Squash and Zucchini Casserole

Looking for ways to use yellow summer squash and zucchini this past weekend, I came across two recipes, here and here, that I used as my inspiration for this recent experiment.

Ingredients

  • 2 large yellow summer squash
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp chili garlic sauce
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 4 tbsp almond flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp pepper

IMG_8786

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Dice up onions and jalapeno. Sautee with coconut oil and garlic sauce. Remove from stove and let cool once cooked to desired consistency.
  3. Slice squash and zucchini into thin strips.
  4. Make egg wash mixture with eggs, butter, coconut milk, almond flour, salt, and pepper.
  5. Dredge strips through egg mixture and layer in 9 x 13 dish.
  6. Add onions and jalapenos on one or two layers as desired.
  7. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until egg is firm. Add dusting of almond flour to top for the last 5-10 minutes of baking.
  8. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

I think it turned out quite well. It’s odd to eat something without meat, it just seems to me like there’s not enough to it, but it’s surprisingly filling.

I used my mandoline slicer to slice up my squash and zucchini into very thin strips. PSA – be VERY careful with mandoline slicers. Even using the guard I managed to slice off the tip of my left middle finger, making typing this week extraordinarily difficult.

IMG_8789

I initially tried brushing the mixture on the squash but that wasn’t very effective.

IMG_8791

In the end, it was easier to dredge each piece through the egg mixture before placing it in the dish.

I alternated layers, one layer of squash, then a layer of zucchini. Adding the onions randomly. I didn’t have a lot of onion; I think I could have easily used the entire onion instead of just the half.

IMG_8793

When I ran out of veggies, I drizzled the rest of the egg mixture on the top. (There really wasn’t much left.) It’s hard to see how much egg is really there before baking.

IMG_8797

Once it’s baked though, the egg puffs up around the edges and fills in between the slices of veggie.

IMG_8800

It’s good but it’s missing a little pizzazz for me. If I make it again, I’ll make a few adjustments. I’d make a smaller one (I still have SO MUCH leftover), and I’d add more heat and spices.

IMG_8803

Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.
~ Auguste Rodin

One comment

What do you think?