Yellow Summer Squash Soup

My thanks go Jessica Meyers at Mastering the Art of Paleo Cooking for this summer squash soup recipe. I had a bounty of summer squash from a friend recently and was looking for new ways to use it. A quick Google search lead me to this recipe. As usual, I made a couple of minor changes to work with things I had on hand. I am pleased to report that it was delicious and a refreshing change of pace. And really not difficult to make.

Ingredients – makes about 5-6 servings

  • 2 pounds yellow summer squash
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 tsp basil
  • salt and pepper to taste (if you remember)

IMG_8745

Down and Dirty Process: 

  1. Roughly chop the onion and bell pepper. Put in a large pot on the stove with the coconut oil on medium heat while cutting up the squash in 1 inch chunks. Add the squash, about 1/4 cup of your broth, cover, and cook/steam on med-high for about 10 minutes, or until the squash is tender.
  2. Add the rest of the broth and thyme to the pot, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 45 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and blend using an immersion blender until smooth.
  4. Add coconut milk and basil. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Warm on med-low temp if the coconut milk has cooled the soup too much or if you’re not ready to serve yet.

Here, my onions and bell pepper are on the stove while I work on the squash.

IMG_8746

(Now I remember why I ate so late last night; it’s not easy stopping to take pictures while trying to make new recipes! LOL)

I weighed out my squash before cutting and it was about 2.25 lbs. Knowing I was shooting for about 2 lbs I thought that would be perfect. The bowl weighs in at .12 so after discarding the ends I’ve come close enough to the mark.

IMG_8747

I was a little nervous at this point that my pan wouldn’t be large enough! LOL

IMG_8748

It cooked down though and worked out just fine. I added a little broth as an afterthought to keep everything from sticking to the pan. The coconut oil had oiled the pan well but had cooked into the onions and bell pepper quite a bit and there was too much sizzling going on that made me nervous. The addition of the broth let me safely cover the pan and leave it to cook while I handled other tasks for 10 minutes.

Now, to add the broth and thyme…

IMG_8749

Compare the last two pictures and you can see how much the veggies cooked down as they softened.

The lid went on and it all simmered for 45 minutes. Smelling heavenly.

Next up – blending. I appreciate having an immersion blender that is metal and that stands up well to boiling temperatures – we once saw one that wasn’t and it melted. Yikes! (We have an older KitchenAid model with 8 speeds. It’s similar to this one but I’m seriously considering upgrading; this model comes with a ton of attachments we don’t have!)

IMG_8750

Our older trusty immersion blender did a bang up job though. Then I added the coconut milk and basil and just mixed gently with a spoon to finish it off.

Recipe Success!

IMG_8754

I completely forget to salt or pepper the soup, but I didn’t miss it! I thought it was packed with flavor just the way it was. 🙂

Cooking is the art of adjustment.
~ Jacques Pepin

2 comments

  1. Looks delish! I am currently (as in it is in the crock pot) trying a Thai chicken dish from Weight Watchers. I will let you know how it goes. It has many of the ingredients you used in your soup. It smells SO good that I will blow my diet waiting for it to be ready.

    Like

What do you think?

